Control and regulatory powers regarding franchises for the supply of electric energy and the rates to be charged therefor are conferred upon the Local Government Board by Part III of the Public Utilities Companies Act (R.S.S. 1940, c. 118). The Commission is given certain control and regulatory powers regarding public electrical utilities under Part III of The Power Commission Act.

On Jan. 1, 1947, Dominion Electric Power Limited, which up to that date had been operated as a wholly owned subsidiary, was completely absorbed by the Commission, and on the same date the properties of Canadian Utilities Limited in Saskatchewan, with the exception of its Lloydminster plant, were acquired and added to the Commission's system.

Including the properties acquired from the three private companies mentioned, the Commission now owns and operates 3,550 miles of transmission line and distribution systems in 343 cities, towns and villages which are served from the Steam generating plants with a total installed capacity of 65,000 kw. are located at Saskatoon, North Battleford, Prince Albert, Estevan and Taylorton, while diesel plants with a total installed capacity of 28,770 h.p. are located at Swift Current, Wynyard, Tisdale, Watrous, Humboldt, Leader, Maple Creek, Unity, Assiniboia, Biggar, Canora, Davidson, Eastend, Grenfell, Gull Lake, Herbert, Hudson Bay, Kerrobert, Kindersley, Meadow Lake, Melfort, Melville, Shellbrook, Nipawin, Perdue, Rosetown, Shaunavon, Wilkie and Yorkton. The Commission also purchases several blocks of power from and contracts for the interchange of power with private interests. Electric energy is sold retail direct to consumers except in the cities of Saskatoon, North Battleford and Swift Current, and the town of Battleford, where energy is furnished in bulk to the municipal corporations and retailed by them to the consumers. The number of customers served direct at the end of 1947 (including rural services) was 45,087, while the number served by municipalities buying power in bulk from the Commission was 18,718.

One hundred and thirty-two cities, towns, villages and hamlets were added to the Commission's system during 1947, including 64 taken over from Dominion Electric Power Limited and Canadian Utilities Limited.

In 1947 approximately 465 miles of transmission lines were constructed. Substantial alterations were also made in existing lines radiating out of the city of Saskatoon including the installation of a new under-ground cable from the Saskatoon plant to the Commission's substation and switch centre on the out-skirts of the city.

The 20,000 h.p. turbo-generator which was under erection at Saskatoon during 1946, was placed in service in January, 1947. The construction of an addition to the power-plant building and the installation of a new steam generator and a new steam turbo-generator at the Estevan plant, were in progress at the end of the year.

The capacity of a number of the Commission's diesel plants was increased during the year by a total of 3,700 h.p. accounted for by local increases as follows: Swift Current 1,250 h.p., Wynyard, 1,250 h.p., Canora 450 h.p., Meadow Lake 450 h.p., Kindersley 300 h.p.

A 520 h.p. natural-gas electric generating unit was also placed in operation in the Unity Plant, while two 875 h.p. natural gas electric units for use in the same plant were purchased and delivered.